Why?! #5: Nelson Mandela Likes Toddlers in Tiaras?

A man who championed for the rights of young girls to dress up like street walkers.

A man who championed for the rights of young girls to dress up like street walkers.

Apparently the newest “goldmine” the world has uncovered is Nelson Mandela, a man whom we should all look up to for his courage and his views. A man who helped open the world’s eyes to AIDS and the people who suffer with it in poverty. A man we can all look up to as a caring and compassionate man of action. A man we can hopefully make a quick dollar on before his name is too tarnished. Sometimes it amazes me that people would rather have money than dignity. Please understand I’m not taking any cuts at Mandela himself. I’m talking about his family and the companies who are purportedly cashing in while they can. Have you asked yourself what the hell kind of a world you live in yet today? It’s time to ask again.

There’s a clothing company whose name I refuse to share, as I don’t even want to advertise for them in some indirect way that works out to their benefit, who are claiming to be owned by Nelson Mandela and creating his own clothing line. It’s the next logical step, obviously. I’m fairly certain he actually wanted to do the clothing line all along but he decided he’d better build some hype for himself first. Maybe get arrested and use his prison number as part of the name for his clothing company. It makes perfect sense. So long as you don’t know anything about Nelson Mandela and you assume he’s a rapper. The people who represent Mandela have made it crystal clear that he has nothing to do with this clothing line (they no longer use his image, though they used to. They do use his quotes) and that the people who are running it are Ferengis who are obviously in a tight spot, arguably over a discrepency in a lautinum trade that went south.

Did someone say profit on the work of another?

Did someone say profit on the work of another?

Mandela’s grand-daughters, stricken with grief over the idea of a company taking advantage of their grandfather’s hard work and integrity, decided to up the ante. Zaziwe Dlamini-Manaway and Swati Dlamini both decided it was time to cash in on the family name and make a reality television show. When it became apparent that the world was more curious about people who had actually accomplished something with their lives, the grand-daughters came out saying that not only would Mandela be an avid fan of their show, but that he was also a big fan of Toddlers in Tiaras. I know I’ve already talked about it, but for those of you not in the know, it’s a show about parents who shouldn’t be allowed to keep their children and dressing up children in ways women should likely never dress, let alone five year olds. I’m sure the statement was made to get this very type of reaction and talk about their terrible show. I don’t even know what that one’s called. Perhaps it’s called What’s Tact? I’m not certain.

His oldest grand-daughter, Ndileka, has come out and claimed that Mandela typically enjoys National Geographic and various news channels. She’s obviously just out to disgrace the family name by telling the truth and not profitting on it in any way. I’m rapidly becoming a fan, to say the least. I have to wonder why she’s not mentioned in the reality television show. It could be due to the fact that she’s busy out accomplishing things on her own and, get this, taking credit for them. We can’t all be on television is the motto of today’s story. Ironically, if she did get a reality show I think no one would watch it. It’s not as easy to feel better than someone who’s not willing to do anything to be popular and/or for money. We see enough people like that in our day to day lives.

I wonder what Nelson Mandela himself would have told me if I met him thirty years ago and told him that one day people everywhere would be using his name to make money and not talking about any of the things he actually did. I’m willing to bet that even if I could prove it to him he would have walked the exact same path and helped the people he did. Why don’t we have reality tv shows about people like that? How low a life form do you have to be to profit on another’s work? Especially when you’re disgracing the name of the person in order to do it.

But our grandparents have always said to us this is our name too, and we can do what we think is best fitting with the name, as long as we treat it with respect and integrity.” -Swati

I would love to explain the meaning of irony to Swati. I would do it with the world’s biggest smile on my sometimes pretty face. I guess I could outline what respect and integrity mean as well. Pride is something you build on your own, and you built it out of your own sweat, cuts and accomplisments. All I can do is shake my head at the things people will do to be rid of their dignity. As I know Nelson Mandela reads my work for inspiration, I’d just like to say Kudos to you, Sir. Try to rein your family in before I’m seeing Mandela Burgers at McDonalds, pretty please.

This entry was posted in Why?! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

