The Absoulute Greatest Places Around #1: Karazhan

The_Karazhan_Dining_Hall_by_Naixthras
One of the greatest places a person can claim to have visited in its “Prime” is Karazhan tower, which goes under a variety of names. I think Ivory Spire of Karazhan is probably the best. Karazhan was the home of the sorceror Medivh, up until the time of his unfortunate demise. For a great period of time the spire was sealed, allowing for a great deal of structural decay and sundry haunted forms. Karazhan is beautiful, and it’s a delight to walk around and see people who are somewhat confused by their current non-living condition. What really hammers the whole thing home, though, is the music. The music changes as you walk through the castle, starting out very light and then becoming more pronounced, to the point where it starts to sound quite lunatic. With the rest of the setting this makes for an amazing experience. The following link is some of the music from close to the opening.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t care a great deal about music in video games. I feel it’s one of the most overlooked areas in the video game industry. That song makes me feel like I’m somewhere haunted. It gives me goosebumps.

Medivh is never too dead to whoop your ass at chess. Never.

Medivh is never too dead to whoop your ass at chess. Never.

The different bosses in Karazhan are all memorable for me, as are their quotes. Moroes is one of the greatest spoken bosses I’ve ever come across. I’ve also seen him wipe the floor with tanks who said they were geared enough. When will tanks learn that it doesn’t take very long to determine they’ve lied about their gear? Who knows? Certainly not I. It was all downhill after Karazhan. I had to get out. Since I no longer play I cannot go back to visit, something that I should be able to do when you consider how much money I invested in that game. There’s always my ten free days, I suppose. I wish someone would make a standalone version of the dungeon that a person could solo. That person would be doing the world a favour. The world would let that person cheat on their income taxes, I’m fairly certain.

karazhan1

If you’re one of the millions of people who still play WoW then for starters I’d like to apologize to you because the version you’re playing now kind of hurts in comparison to what it was. I suppose people will always have varying opinions about that, and of course they will, because there are always people who are wrong about any given topic. The main thing I was trying to say, though, was that you should go to Karazhan and check it out. It’s worth the trip there. In fact, if you were daring enough to assemble Medivh’s staff, Atiesh, you could use it to teleport directly to Karazhan, because everyone knew if you could open a portal to anywhere in the world you would always want it to lead to Karazhan. Note that the staff was removed from the game long ago and you can’t get one anymore. If there’s one thing Blizzard is good at it’s rubbing your face in the fact that you weren’t playing the game soon enough to have the connections to acquire something you really wanted.

kara1

If your spouse wants you to take them somewhere special for your anniversary you should keep Karazhan in mind. As makeout spots go it’s really the bee’s proverbial knees. Have to explain to your class what you did all summer? Tell them about your trip to Karazhan. It’s a way better story than the guy telling everyone why he really likes My Little Pony. Really likes. It’s also a lot more interesting than stories about visiting a real other country where everyone is alive and the music is far worse. Come, gentle night, and give me back my Romulo.

This entry was posted in The Absolute Greatest Places Around and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Absoulute Greatest Places Around #1: Karazhan

  1. sonjablade22 says:

    I remember the raid there with the guild it was fun. I liked the part where we were playing chess.

Leave a Reply

